Waterdrop vs Brita Pitcher: Which One Actually Removes What?
A pitcher is the filter most people buy first, and the two brands most people compare are Brita and Waterdrop. They look alike and cost about the same, but the cartridges inside are certified for different things. We pulled the specs from each company's own product pages and compared them line by line.
Environmental Health Research
Is a Waterdrop or a Brita pitcher better?
For lead, buy the Brita with the Elite filter: Brita states the Elite is NSF/ANSI 53 certified for lead reduction (99%) and rated 120 gallons or about six months. For chlorine taste at the lowest running cost, the Waterdrop Chubby or Lucid is the better value: 200 gallons or three months per cartridge, NSF/ANSI 42 and 372 certified, but no NSF/ANSI 53 health claim. Neither standard pitcher is certified for PFAS.
- ✓Brita Elite: 120 gal / ~6 months, NSF/ANSI 53 lead reduction, "30 contaminants" (brita.com). Tahoe 10-cup pitcher with Elite $41.99.
- ✓Waterdrop Chubby PT-04 / Lucid PT-07: 10-cup, 200 gal / 3 months, NSF/ANSI 42 + 372, 97.4% chlorine; $27.49–$29.99 (waterdropfilter.com).
- ✓Brita Original (standard) filter: 40 gal / ~2 months, chlorine, mercury, copper, cadmium — no lead claim.
- ✓Only Waterdrop's electric ED-series pitchers ($49.99–$59.99) list NSF/ANSI 53 and 401; the gravity pitchers do not.
Frequently asked questions
Does a Brita pitcher remove lead?▾
Only with the Elite filter. Brita's lead page states the Elite is "NSF certified against NSF/ANSI Standard 53 for lead reduction" and removes 99% of lead. The Original (standard) filter lists chlorine, mercury, copper and cadmium and makes no lead claim.
Does a Waterdrop pitcher remove lead?▾
The gravity pitchers we checked (Chubby PT-04, Lucid PT-07) list NSF/ANSI 42 and 372 and a 97.4% chlorine reduction; they do not carry an NSF/ANSI 53 lead claim. Waterdrop's electric ED02 and ED04 pitchers list NSF/ANSI 401, 53, 42 and 372.
Does either pitcher remove PFAS?▾
Neither Brita nor Waterdrop states a PFOA/PFOS reduction claim on the pitcher pages we read. If your city's UCMR5 results show PFAS, look at an under-sink carbon block or reverse osmosis system instead.
Spec sheet, side by side
| Spec | Brita Tahoe 10-cup + Elite | Waterdrop Chubby PT-04 / Lucid PT-07 |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 10 cups | 10 cups |
| Filter life | 120 gal / about 6 months | 200 gal / up to 3 months |
| Certifications (as published) | NSF/ANSI 53 lead reduction (Brita lead page); no standard numbers on the pitcher page itself | NSF/ANSI 42 and 372 |
| Lead | 99% (Elite) | no lead claim on gravity pitchers |
| Chlorine taste & odor | yes | 97.4% |
| Other listed reductions | asbestos, microplastics, pharmaceuticals, pesticides, benzene, mercury, cadmium, Particulates Class I; “30 contaminants” | rust, metal ions, taste and odor |
| PFOA/PFOS | not stated on pages read | not stated |
| Pitcher price seen | $41.99 | $27.49 (Chubby) / $29.99 (Lucid) |
| Replacement filter | Elite $19.99 (1) / $32.99 (2) | not captured |
| Alternative cartridge | Original: 40 gal / 2 months, chlorine, mercury, copper, cadmium; $7.99 | Electric ED02 / ED04 pitchers: NSF/ANSI 401, 53, 42, 372; $49.99 / $59.99 |
Sources read 2026-09-07: brita.com Tahoe + Elite, Elite replacement filters, Brita lead page, Brita Original filters, Waterdrop Chubby, Waterdrop Lucid, Waterdrop pitcher collection.
The certification gap is the whole story
NSF/ANSI 42 covers aesthetic effects: chlorine taste and odor, particulates. NSF/ANSI 53 covers health effects: lead, mercury, VOCs, cysts and, in newer listings, PFOA/PFOS. NSF/ANSI 372 is not a filtration claim at all; it certifies that the product's wetted materials are lead-free. So a “NSF 42 + 372” pitcher is certified to taste better and not to leach lead itself; it is not certified to take lead out of your water. That describes the Waterdrop Chubby and Lucid as published.
Brita's Elite filter is the one cartridge in this comparison with a stated NSF/ANSI 53 lead claim, and Brita puts the 99% figure and the standard number on its lead landing page. That matters if your city's Lead and Copper Rule result is above a few ppb, or if your home predates 1986 and might have lead solder or a lead service line. If your city page shows lead near zero and no lead service lines, the 53 claim is worth less and the Waterdrop's longer cartridge life starts to win.
Running cost. Brita: 120 gallons per $19.99 Elite cartridge, or about 17 cents a gallon. Waterdrop: 200 gallons per cartridge; the replacement price was not captured on the pages we read, so we will not compute a figure. Brita's Original cartridge is the cheapest per unit ($7.99) but only 40 gallons, and it has no lead claim.
Flow and convenience. Neither manufacturer publishes a fill time for these gravity pitchers, so we do not compare speed. Both are 10-cup pitchers that fit a refrigerator shelf; the Waterdrop electric ED-series is a different product class (powered pump, NSF/ANSI 53 and 401 claims, $49.99–$59.99) and is the Waterdrop to look at if you want health claims in pitcher form.
Where a pitcher stops being the right tool
Both brands are honest about one thing in their spec sheets: these are gravity carbon cartridges, and gravity carbon has limits. The contact time is short, the media volume is small, and there is no membrane. That is why neither pitcher page claims arsenic, nitrate or fluoride reduction, and why the PFAS claims that do exist in this category belong to a handful of specially certified cartridges rather than to standard Brita or Waterdrop gravity filters. If your city page on this site flags any of those four contaminants, a pitcher is a taste upgrade, not a treatment. It also pays to look at the lead result on your city page before paying for the Elite's 53 claim: a system with a Lead and Copper Rule 90th percentile near 1 ppb and a complete, lead-free service-line inventory gives the Brita premium little to do, while a result above 5 ppb or an unknown-material service line makes it the obvious choice. The pitcher decision, in other words, is a lead decision; everything else in this category is chlorine taste.
Verdict by situation
- Lead on your city report, or a pre-1986 home. Brita with the Elite filter, because it is the only cartridge here with a stated NSF/ANSI 53 lead claim. Our lead filter guide covers the under-sink step up.
- Chlorine taste, clean city record. Waterdrop Chubby or Lucid: cheaper pitcher, 200-gallon cartridge, NSF/ANSI 42 for taste and odor. Brita Original does the same job with a shorter 40-gallon life.
- PFAS detected in your city. Neither. No pitcher page we read carries a PFOA/PFOS claim. Read RO vs carbon for PFAS and consider an under-sink unit.
- Arsenic, nitrate or fluoride flagged. Neither. Carbon pitchers do not remove these; you need reverse osmosis.
- Renters. Either; both are zero-install. Pick by the contaminant rule above.
- Want health claims in a pitcher but not Brita. The Waterdrop electric ED02/ED04 lists NSF/ANSI 401, 53, 42 and 372.
Where to buy
Brita Large 10-cup pitcher with Elite filter (~$42)
NSF/ANSI 53 lead reduction, 120-gallon cartridge. The lead pick.
View Brita Elite pitcher on Amazon →Waterdrop pitchers (~$27–$60)
Chubby and Lucid for taste (NSF/ANSI 42 + 372); electric ED-series for NSF/ANSI 53 and 401 claims.
Shop Waterdrop pitchers →ZeroWater 10-cup pitcher (~$40)
The third pitcher we recommend on city pages: NSF/ANSI 53 lead and chromium reduction.
View ZeroWater on Amazon →Disclosure: we may earn a commission from purchases through these links, at no extra cost to you. Claims above are quoted from manufacturer pages.
Find out if your water has lead
A certified mail-in lab test shows exactly what's in your water — lead plus dozens of other contaminants — with EPA-grade accuracy. Know your real levels before spending on a filter.
Certified lab · results in days